You live for ever my thin Santa Claus, that’s how I describe you to most of my friends and will continue to do so. With soul the size of an ocean and a mind as wide as surpassing the horizon itself, and a heart which knew every sense wherever you stood, the ground became the world.

Professor Vinayak to most, but I was privileged to be allowed to call him by his first name inspite of decades of difference in experience.

To my first job, when you proudly waited in the reception to see me, while half the agency was out surprised and greeting you cause they literally revered you. While you elegantly walked out to take me for a treat. Proud of your gait and elegance …. Ever since

The “come as you are” party when I decided to leave Bombay, and the finishing the wine bottle while you very subtly convinced me to stay, with your famous one liners etching deep into my mind.

To, you being so protective like a father, when your student approached me inappropriately.

To never letting me bend, in life for anything including lighting up J.

To the lunches in your Dadar house, with bizarre WWE and philosophy which was simplistic yet impactful.

To crazy Karaoke sessions, Dean Martin and Harry Belafonte and Wilson Pickett. To your happy feet always dancing.

To burning the floor where each of us lil ones would ignore the boys and dance with just the gentleman … which was afcourse you.

To the bright eyes and proud look you had when I as an lil executive, sat amongst your CEO friends, and spoke marketing. Never told u but more than the conversation the pride in your eyes was over whelming.

To the Kerela Trip teaching the businessmen how to do business …. Loadsa jungle, George and broths.

To the Showman, crowd moved when you stood up, people listened when you spoke… laughed when u cracked your inevitable jokes and shuddered when u were angry. To the indefatigable spirit.

To the small tea parties, we had before I left …. I could go on and on and on ….. so I can never complete writing everything about you…. You can only travel but never leave.

Look at how the universe functions, I write this for you on friendship day, I am blessed to have had a person like you in my life, who had space in his heart for all who he considered as a friend. It is an honor.

I am incapable of writing and obituary for you, because you can only live forever, in my heart, my soul and some one who’s responsible along the way for my very construct …. As a marketer, as an Individual, as a lady, as a human being. I can never miss you because u have left lil part of you in us… and thank you for staying back and thank you for being you.

Leave a comment

Trending